Summer Body

It’s finally reaching that point of the year where you are thinking about what you’re going to do to shed those few pounds of winter before donning a bikini on the beach… It’s starting to be warmer more days out of the week and that means that summer is just around the corner! I don’t know about you, but when I think of summer I think of my feet in the sand as I’m soaking in the rays of vitamin C. But before I can do that, I want to definitely shed off some of that winter weight (and start getting back to my healthy living on the reg).

How am I planning to do this?

Well, first by starting with a cleanse! (Not without splurging on all my favorite treats, because Lord knows I am going to miss them dearly… they won’t be too far away though because I plan on giving myself one cheat day a week to try and keep any bad cravings at bay) What kind of cleanse? One that a friend actually recommended to me. You drink a mixture of water and epsom salts! There are different recommended ways of going about this, you should look them up and find what works best for you. Word of warning, trust me, you’re going to want to stay home when you do this 😉

You can continue to do this cleanse once a week or whenever you feel the need to clean out your system!

Next, you drink a protein shake each morning to substitute a meal at breakfast. Usually, it’s better to get one with low amounts of sugar and fat. You generally want something with more carbs and protein to help you stay full throughout the day until lunch. For your other meals, you should rotate between chicken and vegetables. My friend said she tried salmon, but I’m not a huge fish person so I won’t be doing that. I will replace the salmon days with an extra day of chicken and vegetables.

Eating healthy is not only about what you eat, but how much you eat as well. Portion control is super important when it comes to maintaining a healthy diet. Healthy snacks through the day (such as carrots, apple slices, almonds, celery, etc.) are great ways to tide you over until your next meal.

Exercise is also important to make sure you keep your muscles toned and your body fit! One of my favorite things to do is going for a run around my neighborhood, especially during the summer. Not only does this do wonders for your legs, but it’s a great cardio workout as well! If running isn’t your thing, I also recommend trying out a barre class. Barre is a mixture of pilates, yoga, and ballet. It kicks a$$! It uses isometric strength training and reps of small movements to whip your butt into shape. Barre is a great workout, the only problem is that classes can be kind of pricey; however, I recommend everyone tries it at least once! I prefer to go to The Barre Code.

What do you need?

  • Water
  • Epsom Salts
  • Veggies
  • Fruits
  • Chicken
  • Greens (for salads)
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Salmon (if you prefer this)
  • Protein shakes
Leave a Reply

